City of Lemoore City of Lemoore City of Lemoore

Megan's Law

A Brief History

Megan Kanka In 1995, a convicted child molester was arrested for the murder and rape of 7 year-old Megan Kanka in a New Jersey suburb. The offender lived right across the street from the Kanka residence, however the Police Department was prohibited from disclosing the presence of this child molester because at the time the law did not allow the release of sex offender information to the public.

The law was changed to permit the release of this information to the public and on May 8, 1996, President Clinton signed the law, dubbed "Megan's Law" in remembrance of little Megan Kanka. The California State Legislature signed California's version of Megan's Law into effect on September 25, 1996. This law was implemented to allow potential victims to protect themselves and allow parents to protect their children.

California Penal Code Section 290

Section 290 of the California Penal Code requires people convicted of certain sexual offenses to register with the local law enforcement agency responsible for the jurisdiction in which they reside within 5 working days of their birthday, and within 5 working days of changing their address. This is a requirement for the rest of their lives. If they fail to register on time, they are in violation of the law and go to jail. If they fail to notify the Police Department when they move in or out of the city, they go to jail. If they provide the Police Department with false or deceptive information about where they are living, they go to jail. The Lemoore Police Department has a no tolerance policy with regard to sex registration and routinely sends cases to the District Attorney's Office for charging of violations of 290 P.C.

The Lemoore Police Department
and Megan's Law

The Lemoore Police Department is committed to keeping children safe and parents informed about sexual offenders living near them. We have placed a "Sexual Offender Map" on this website, available for download by concerned citizens.

The state of California does not provide a Web site with information on or names of registered sex offenders. This information is distributed by the state through the use of a CD-ROM available at local law enforcement agencies. The state also provides a Sex Offender Identification Line (1-900-463-0400) for a fee of $10.

The map show the general location of each offender living in the area. For more specific information regarding names and locations of these offenders, the Megan's Law CD ROM is available for review at the Kings County Sheriff's Office. Call 582-3211 for more information about obtaining more information about Megan's Law and Registered Sexual Offenders in this area.

The map display registered sex offenders classified as either "High Risk" or "Serious" living within the City Of Lemoore. Locations of offenders, streets, and schools are approximate. Civil misuse of the information may subject that person to civil damages.

  • Serious Offender - A "serious" sex offender is an individual convicted of at least one of the following charges: assault with intent to commit rape, oral copulation, or sodomy; rape; sodomy with a minor or by force; lewd or lascivious conduct with a child or a dependent adult; oral copulation with a minor or by force; continuous sexual abuse of a child; child molestation; penetration with a foreign object by force; kidnaping with intent to commit specified sex offenses; felony sexual battery; felony enticement of a child for purposes of prostitution; abduction of a child for purposes of prostitution.
  • High Risk Offender - A high-risk sex offender is a person who has been convicted of an offense specified in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of 290.4 P.C., and also meets one of the following criteria:
    1. Has been convicted of three or more violent sex offenses, at least two of which were brought and tried separately.

    2. Has been convicted of two violent sex offenses and one or more violent nonsex offenses, at least two of which were brought and tried separately.

    3. Has been convicted of one violent sex offense and two or more violent nonsex offenses, at least two of which were brought and tried separately.

    4. Has been convicted of either two violent sex offenses or one violent sex offense and one violent nonsex offense, at least two of which were brought and tried separately, and has been arrested on separate occasions for three or more violent sex offenses, violent nonsex offenses, or associated offenses.

    5. Has been adjudicated a sexually violent predator pursuant to Article 4 (commencing with Section 6600) of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of Division 6 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

    For more information, go to Megan's Law of California.